January 27, 2021

Four Winners At Havasu 95 Speedway

2 min read
LAKE HAVASU CITY, Ariz. – Havasu 95 Speedway continued its 2020/21 season on Saturday afternoon...

LAKE HAVASU CITY, Ariz. – Havasu 95 Speedway continued its 2020/21 season on Saturday afternoon with four divisions on the slightly banked, quarter-mile paved oval.

The track races from the fall into the spring due to high temperatures in the northwestern Arizona city.

Qualifying and mains comprised the agenda with dwarf cars contesting 30 laps to start the main events. Adam Teves used his pole starting position to lead start to finish for the victory. Richie Abbott pressured him all the way, but didn’t find a path around Teves and was second with a dozen cars on hand.

Eighteen factory stocks had an excellent 20-lap event, starting with Kyle Jacks and Kevin McKinney trading the lead several times during the first eight laps.  McKinney’s top side efforts eventually allowed William Guevara to earn second.

Traffic clogged the leader’s line, leading to Jacks slipping up the track as lap 15 was concluding, giving Guevara an opening to lead the last five laps for the win. Jacob Quartoro was second, with Darryl Kearns claiming the final podium spot.

The 35-lap main for 19 street stocks was calm until the final turn, when traffic became part of the equation. Race-long leader Tyler Savage and the driver who chased him throughout the race, Jeremy Orozco, made contact in turn four. Morocco had the inside line and the contact damaged Savage’s left front and Orozco recovered to get the win.

That was until officials moved Orozco to the last car on the lead lap and Savage was disqualified for post-race antics.

Kevin James was declared the winner and Brent Delay was second over Scott Groom.

Late models finished the day with a 15-car field battling for 100 laps to end the show.

Mike Weimann had led 58 laps when handling issues appeared. Lap 59 saw Parker Malone able to race under Weimann on the backstretch and complete the pass on the bottom of turn four.

Malone led the final 42 tours for the victory over Robby Hornsby and Rob Kiemele. The only yellow came with six laps remaining and Weimann’s handling issues cost him three more spots on the restart.

The post Four Winners At Havasu 95 Speedway appeared first on SPEED SPORT.

Source link