January 16, 2021

FIFPro announces nominations for World XI 2020

2 min read
FIFPro Announces Nominations for World XI 2020 – Originally published on Sportslens.com The shortlist for...

FIFPro Announces Nominations for World XI 2020 – Originally published on Sportslens.com

The shortlist for FIFPro World XI 2020 has been announced.

Every professional footballer around the world was invited to vote for the best player in each position. Those with the most votes made it onto the 55-man shortlist.

The goalkeeper with the most votes and the three best defenders, midfielders and strikers are included in FIFPro World XI. The remaining place goes to the field player with the most votes.

Bayern Munich is the most strongly represented team in the shortlist with 11 players. The title winners Real Madrid and Liverpool take second place with eight players each.

Bayern finished three times with a win against PSG in August.

Although Barcelona and Tottenham Hotspur were without trophies last year, they both made it into the top five with six and five candidates respectively.

Atletico Madrid, the leaders of the La Liga, had only one candidate, while not a single player from the Champions League semi-finalists RB Leipzig and Lyon made it.

Brazil and Germany were the countries with the highest number of nominees, each with eight, while Spain and France each had five.

There was no place on the list for Serie A Golden Shoe winner Ciro Immobile, or Player of the Year, Paulo Dybala. Jadon Sancho, Romelu Lukaku, Timo Werner and Raheem Sterling were other notable snubs.

37-year-old Dani Alves was a surprising shortlist, as was Tottenham's midfielder Dele Alli.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo both hope to make it for the 14th time, having been elected every year since 2007.

Messi and Ronaldo were able to share the stage again

Complete shortlist

Goalkeepers: Alisson (Liverpool), Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), David de Gea (Man Utd), Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan ), Ederson (Man City), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur), Keylor Navas (PSG), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona)

Defenders : David Alaba (Bayern Munich), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Dani Alves (Sao Paulo), Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Alphonso Davies (Bavaria Munich), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli), Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool), Thiago Silva (PSG / Chelsea), Raphael Varane (Real) Madrid)

Midfielder: Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich / Liverpool) , Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Casemiro (Real Madrid), Philippe Coutinho (Bayern Munich / Barcelona), Kevin De Bruyne (Man City), Bruno Fernandes (Man Utd), Leon Goretzka (Bayern Munich) , Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona), N & # 39; Golo Kante (Chelsea), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Thomas Müller (Bayern Munich )

Striker: Sergio Aguero (Man City), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal), Karim Benzema (Real) Madrid), Serge Gnabry (Bayern Munich), Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (AC Milan), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Kylian Mbappe (PSG), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Neymar (PSG), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Heung min son (Tottenham Hotspur) [19659003] From Sportslens.com – Football news | Football blog

Source link